Boy, oh Boy!

This morning, I set my alarm for 10 minutes earlier than I had all week and enjoyed that extra time under the covers with my blackberry reading some blogs! I really like getting up slowly in the morning; that is one reason I miss Jodus! His alarm goes off at 4:45 and I don’t usually get out of bed until 5:15-5:30. It’s quite nice. I’m exciting for things to be back to normal next week!

Breakfast

After happily wandering downstairs to a clean kitchen, I proceeded to dirty it up again. 😉

Conveniently enough, this morning I had an almost empty jar of peanut butter! I made a pretty good dent in that thing this week! 😉

001

For the first time all week, I made myself a batch of oatmeal for one! I used about a cup of vanilla soymilk, a scoop of ground flax, a tsp of cocoa powder, 1/3 cup of oats, and 1 banana. Then topped it with some PB!

003 004

And I drank some grass while I cooked.

002

Lunch

More leftover mung beans with lots of Indian flava! Atop a bunch of spinach!

007

I also had an afternoon snack of an orange but I was busy chatting with Christina and it was really juicy and I didn’t get a picture. Sorry ’bout that.

Then I finally got around to some detox tea. I had some of my old tea stashed in my desk at work! Yogi, I love thee!

008 009

I also finished up the meal planning through the end of the detox and made our shopping list for tonight!

010

Don’t worry, I don’t expect you to be able to read my chicken scratch!

What does that mean, anyway? Chicken scratch? Don’t you hate it when you say a popular saying and then realize that you have no idea what it means or what it’s origins are? Kinda pisses me off.

/rant.

Dinner

After work, I fought Friday traffic, made a pit stop at the bank, and beat Jodus home from the airport. I got to work on dinner right away!

Bhindi Masala

Ingredients
  • 2 bags of frozen cut okra
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • dash of cayenne
Directions
  1. Place the okra in a large, microwave-safe dish with a splash of water; cook in microwave on High for 5 minutes. Stir. Microwave again for 5 more minutes. Drain excess liquid.
  2. Heat the olive oil and cumin seeds together in a large skillet over medium-high heat until the cumin seeds swell and turn golden brown. Fry the onions in the heated oil for 3 minutes. Add the tomatoes to the mixture and cook another 3 minutes. Stir the okra into the mixture; season with the curry powder and salt. Cook and stir the mixture until hot through and slightly browned. Serve hot.

011 020

To go with, I made some quick Minute brown rice.

014

I felt like that wouldn’t be quite enough to satisfy my hungry belly so I boiled some chunked carrots, drained, tossed in oil, thyme, and a tiny squirt of agave.

019

Voila! (Not to be confused with Viola!)

022 018

Yum!

The boy was very excited to be home!

024

But not as excited as I was to see him! He brought me back a couple of goodies!

015

(Virginia is for lovers.)

016

What does our fridge say about us?

017

After dinner, we cleaned up then off to the grocery store(s) we went!

Costco goods:

037 036

Then we got side tracked by the 75% off sign at Pier 1! Oops! The boy forced me in and bought me a few things.

New placemats:

025 026

Some candles:

039

A new brooch:

038

And another surprise to be revealed at a later date!

Then we continued on our merry way to the grocery store.

Central Market goods:

027

I have a feeling that the Coconut Bliss might get broken into tonight!

031 

Hellz yes, it is detox friendly!

More up close and personals:

029 030 032 033 035

Yep, for the last week of the detox, starting Monday, we are making the switch back to unsweetened almond milk. I say “back” like you know what I mean.

Pre-blog days, this was all we drank (milk-wise). But financially speaking, Costco soymilk is more economical for us. But it also has a lot more additives (read: sugar) in it. But it also has more protein. So anyway, Monday marks the switch and I am really excited!

Oh! And also on our way home, we got GREAT news! We are getting a new fridge! Wheeeee! Ours has been leaking and our landlady finally broke down and is getting us a new one all together! We should get it next Saturday!

We are so corny. We think that tonight rocked. We are cuddling up to a movie. Had a good dinner. Had fun grocery (etc) shopping. We are so old. We are not ones for going out dancing or going to bars. I love it just how we are. It’s purrrfect.

Boy oh boy, did I miss the boy! So glad to have him back! Tomorrow’s agenda is laziness. Straight up. LOVE it.

-L4L-

3 Responses

  1. Yay for lazy weekends! My weeks are always so busy, I luuuurve spending a day doing nada!

    Funny, I buy almond milk cause it’s cheaper than soy!! The lack of protein sucks, but I also find you can’t taste it in things, whereas you can with soy milk. Enjoy the new fridge!!

  2. I think your chicken scratch is way better than mine 🙂

    Thanks for the Coconut Bliss shout out, a pint of Cherry Amaretto would not make it’s first night in my freezer without a nibble or 6 out of it!

Leave a Reply

