I Heart Beans

Last night, after I signed off the electronics, I cuddled up with Julie Powell in bed for over an hour. When I finally turned out the light, I tossed and turned until 1:27 then I finally had peaceful slumber until 5:30 when the alarm went off.

Breakfast

I really don’t like the idea of cooking oatmeal for one. I just don’t. It seems like so much effort.

So instead of oatmeal, I settled for Good Seed + PB + Banana, water (that glass was full), grass + soymilk + cocoa, and detox tea.

002

So I’ve figured out the trick to the yucky tea.

Brew it. Let it sit in your travel mug for a couple hours. When you finally make it to work, take off the lid, remove the bag, and let the tea get to room temperature. Finally, around lunch time, chug the tea, plugging nose if necessary.

It works, I tell you.

003

I really really dislike black licorice if you can’t tell.

Lunch

I love that my toast and liquids kept my belly at bay until 12:30. That is amazing. 6+ hours of straight up love right there.

Lunch was leftover moroccan zucchini + "ooh lala" black beans.

005

Pretty uneventful. Except beans make my innards all gurgly. But I’ve grown accustomed to that over the past week or so.

Afternoon snack: my daily orange!

006

(Pic showing off my new wireless keyboard and mouse at work!) 😉

(FYI – I do have an apple and a banana sitting on my desk, begging to get eaten, but neither sound as delicious as an orange!)

While I was wallowing away at work, the (cute) boy sent me a BlackBerry pic of the Virginia sunset!

IMG00067-20100112-1655

I would say I wish I were there but I hear it is cold and windy. I’ll take a mild drizzle over that any day. 😉

Dinner

This morning, I put 1 3/4 cup of mung beans in some water to soak.

001

When I got home to a quite house, they had puckered up a bit.

007 008

I simmered the beans until soft and in the meantime, I sautéed some veggies.

009 010

Again, I resorted to dazzling them up with some Indian spices. (They are my go to. My comfort zone.) Mustard seed, cumin seed, cardamom, curry powder, turmeric, lemon juice, ginger, salt, and pepper all went into this.

011

Served over spinach of course!

013

Who needs rice or pasta or something when you can just have spinach?!

014

Evening snackypoo:

015

So after work today, I’ve talked to Jodus twice, and my mommy. Convo with mom was wedding related. I found some invitations I like (Etsy!) and got a couple of quotes for my top choices. I also did some wedding favor research.

The rest of the night’s mission: get through some magazines! I have a pile that have accumulated since I’ve been so busy and now that I have some downtime, I want to raid them and get rid of them.

016

I also hope to score some meal ideas for next week on the detox. My stockpile of vegetarian (essentially vegan) recipes is dwindling. (This is also a cry for help!)

Night!

-L4L-

9 Responses

  1. Quick cheat for steel-cut oats: the night before, put your oats into cold water (not necessarily refrigerator cold, just room temp or cold tap, whatever), bring water and oats to a boil, then cover and turn off your burner. They’ll cook in the pot overnight, and the lid will keep them from spoiling. In the morning, just heat and eat!

  2. I think you should check out Happy Herbivore’s website for vegan ideas…her recipes always look really good. Other than that, looks like you’re doing great! I was craving sweet tonight (uh, on day 2) so I made a mini smoothie (banana pineapple strawberries and a splash of soymilk) and now I feel a little sick…ugh I need to just GET OVER my sweet tooth! Are you getting any cravings?

    • I always crave sweet. Chocolate. Every night. On the detox though, to satisfy my craving, I’ll eat a date. Or two. 😉 Or just settle for salty spicy cashews instead! Thanks for the Happy Herbivore suggestion. I’ll check it out!

  3. Ugh I really don’t like licorice either. I don’t know how you do it! You are doing so good on your detox! 🙂

  4. Yay for Etsy!!! My favorite website ever.

  5. Woohoo for naners on toast—I had the same–soo good!

  6. Your dinner sounds really good. I love when you add a whole bunch of spices! I don’t remember ever having mung beans before.

    Love you! Is it Friday afternoon yet?

  7. […] Leftover mung beans with some steamed spinach. […]

Leave a Reply

