Ooh La La!

Saturdays without work are fantastic! We slept in until 9, didn’t manage to make it downstairs until 10, and didn’t do anything productive until noon!

Breakfast

Oats graced our presence this morning. And after an epiphany I had last night, I knew exactly what I wanted to top them with!

003

Peanut butter and CAROB CHIPS! YES!

Carob chips are totally allowed on the detox! I am stoked! Still going to try to not over-do it though!

Carob chips make me (and my oats) smile!

002

Don’t worry, I didn’t leave Jodus’ oats out either.

008

We also had a shot of Grass + Soymilk + cocoa.

005

And some juice (carrot + apple + strawberry + blueberry).

004

Best thing about eating breakfast at 10:30 in the morning?

001

Natural light!

006

Makes a huge difference to not only my pictures but also my mood!

007

After breakfast and lounging, we finally got dressed and did a little grocery shopping for the week since I ended up working last night.

Trader Joe’s:

009

QFC:

011

Jodus hit up Costco on Friday for mushrooms, spinach, dates, and bananas too.

Lunch

After I unpacked groceries, it was 1:15 and Jodus had to book it to his hair cut. I got to work on chopping veggies for a kick butt stir-fry!

012

Daikon Radish

013

Broccoli

017

Carrots

015

Onion

019

Baby Bok Choy

018

Bean Sprouts

016

Edamame

020

Fresh ginger, minced garlic

021

While I waited for the boy, I was getting hangry.

Solution?

 025

Crispbread + new tapenade!

022 024

When he got home, I stirred and fried it right up with a little peanut oil and soy sauce. And we served it over some brown rice.

030

(More natural light!)

Topped our bowls with sriracha of course! (And toasted sesame seeds!)

031 032

We ended up eating in the living room while watching All About Steve with Sandra Bullock. It was kinda cute. Kinda dumb.

033

Dessert:

034

His & Hers!

[More lounging ensued.]

Dinner

Dinner was half inspired by my recent trip to Whole Foods and the salad bar’s Moroccon Zucchini! I tried to recreate it at home tonight!

082

Sliced up zucchini.

036

(Watch out for roll-a-ways!)

037

Coated with some EVOO and a Moroccan spice mix leftover from ages ago when I tried the baked chickpeas… epic failure but that’s another story.

042

Roasted in the oven at 425* for awhile.

081

The main part of dinner was Black Beans a la Olla (aka Ooh la la!).

Ingredients
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 1 large onions, diced + 1 shallot, diced
  • 6 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 (19 ounce) can 2 16oz cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (16 ounce) can tomato sauce (plus a smidge leftover in the fridge)
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (Ooh la la!!!)
  • 3/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions  (Totally forgot!)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro (Just a sprig!)
Directions
  1. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat; cook the onions and garlic in the oil until the onions are translucent, 5 to 7 minutes. Stir in the black beans, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, cumin, and cayenne pepper; reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 5 minutes. Add 3/4 cup cilantro and simmer another 2 minutes. Stir in the green onions and remove from heat. Garnish with 1/4 cup cilantro.

 038 044 045 046 047 053 054 055 057 059 068 072 075 077083

I served it up with a side of avocado!

084

Dinner was fab!

086

Lots of flavor! And so easy!

I had a taaaaaalllllll glass of water with my eats.

088087

And a cute boy to dine with!

092 095

Hope you all had a deliciously fabulous Saturday!

-L4L-

5 Responses

  1. Awww, I love your bowls of oatmeal!! One of the many things I miss about summer is the wonderful natural light for taking oatmeal photos – even at 6am!

  2. […] Lunch was leftover moroccan zucchini + "ooh lala" black beans. […]

  3. […] exciting and tasty dinner: leftover ooh lala beans over 2 tiny sweet potatoes topped with some fabulous […]

  4. […] Black Beans a la Olla (detox friendly!) […]

Leave a Reply

