Detox Week 1 In Review

The first week of my New Years’ detox is coming to a close tomorrow! Taking a look back at what was suggested, how did I do?

Decrease/Begin to Eliminate

Coffee Eliminated!

Alcohol Eliminated!

Sugar – look for evaporated cane juice, fructose, sucrose, high fructose corn syrup, etc to avoid also! They are all just different forms of sugar! Also avoid artificial sweeteners! Eliminated!

Refined Carbs – basically anything with white flour Eliminated!

Dairy – Rice/Almond/Oat milks are great alternatives this week! I’ll be sticking to my Vanilla Soymilk to save $$ but ideally, an unsweetened Almond milk is your best bet! Eliminated!

Animal Products – except fish and eggs Eliminated!

Processed Foods – frozen meals, packaged food items, etc. Eliminated!

Fruit Juices – this week, I am allowing myself homemade juices because there is no added sugars but after this week, no more juice! Only fresh, 100% juice.

Chemicals No real change here

Nicotine N/A

Refined Oils – avoid safflower, sunflower, corn, soybean, and canola oils Mostly eliminated

Increase

Water – aim for 8 glasses a day!  I could have done better…

Herbal/Green Teas Check!

Veggies  – focus on colorful veggies and lots of green!! Asparagus, artichoke, broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, cabbage, kale, collards, dandelion greens, watercress, beets, radishes, burdock root, spinach, chard, squash, sweet potatoes Probably could have done a little better with these specific veggies but I think that overall, I ate a lot of them!

Fruit – BRIGHT colors! Berries, apples, melons Check! Lots of oranges, bananas, strawberries!

Plant sources of protein beans, tofu, tempeh, edamame, nuts, some egg ok. Check!

Whole Grains – brown rice, quinoa, kasha, barley, oats, millet, corn, whole wheat Probably could have been better here.

Nuts/Seedsalmonds, walnuts, cashews, pecans, Brazil nuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds Check!

Spices & Herbs garlic, onion, basil, cilantro, chives, rosemary, parsley, garam masala, cumin, the list is endless! BIG Check!

Unrefined Oils Olive, Sesame, coconut oil Check!

***

Take A Closer Look At What I Ate

The main things I ate:

Miso Soup

Gomen Wat

Oatmeal

Amazing Grass

Fruit

Daal

Green Monsters

Italian Vegetable Soup

Stir Fry

Beans

***

How do you think I did?

What would you have done differently?

What’s your favorite ways to prepare some of the things I missed?

-L4L-

3 Responses

  1. You know I think you are a rock star for doing this. My only advice is on the water thing. When I’m trying to drink more, I try to drink a big glass as soon as I wake up in the morning. Sets the day right, or something.

  2. […] Detox Week 1 In Review  […]

Leave a Reply

