Reading Rainbow

So. Close. To. Friday.

So close.

Breakfast

So since I tried Amazing Grass straight up yesterday, I knew I wanted to mix it in a GM this mornin’!

007

In the Monster (for 2): ~1/2 cup vanilla soymilk, 2 large handfuls of spinach, 1 banana, a handful of cilantro, 7 fresh strawberries, ~10 large frozen strawberries, and 2 scoops of grass.

002

Some of you have inquired about the creamy factor of my GM’s. What I do is put one handful of spinach in my blender with some soymilk and let it blend. It takes awhile to catch all the spinach. And you can’t pack the blender too ful. When that is all blended nicely, I add another handful of spinach and another splash of milk to the blender and let that mix up. (Usually, in the mean time, I am getting other aspects of breakfast ready, or packing lunches, etc.) Once sufficiently blended, I add the fresh fruit. Blend. Then the frozen fruit. Blend. Let blend a little longer than you generally would and you can watch it magically grow in volume! 😀

005 011

This morning, I really thought that the GM would be enough but given the last couple days of hunger, I decided to add a piece of Good Seed and Peanut Butter (Fat, Fiber, and Protein FTW!).

008

I also had tea. Which got mostly drank on the road.

010 006

Lunch

Amazingly enough, I did not have a morning snack!

But I did break into my lunch early.

😉

Last night’s leftovers: “Daal” over spinach

012

I could barely finish this sucker and I could feel major digestion afterward! Lots of fiber in those lentils!

For dessert, I had an orange!

013

I am loving these things.

I usually give a couple wedges to Christina and I pick off the pith for Linn. She eats it for her arthritis. Gross.

A couple hours later, since it was an early lunch and all, I had some hummus and mushrooms.

014

I only ate half the bag of mushrooms and a couple tablespoons of hummus. I was sad it wasn’t really all that spicy but maybe lunch desensitized me. Linn stole a mushroom with hummus and said it was spicy. Maybe she’s just a wuss. 😉

Dinner

Something I remember making last year for the detox and remember turning out fantastically is an Italian Vegetable Soup recipe that I found on AllRecipes.com.

032

And of course it wouldn’t be made in my kitchen without a few modifications (in bold)! 😉

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large onion, cut into small dice
  • 3 medium 2 large carrots, peeled and sliced 1/4-inch thick
  • 3 medium celery stalks, sliced 1/4-inch thick (EW)
  • 1 medium bell pepper (red or yellow), stemmed, seeded and cut into medium dice (Didn’t have any)
  • 1 pound all-purpose potatoes, unpeeled and cut into medium dice I used 2 sweet potatoes, weighed 1 lb, 1 oz!
  • 2 parsnips, chopped
  • 1 (16 ounce) can petite diced tomatoes (there is nothing petite in my house!)
  • 2 (15.5 ounce) cans cannellini or other white beans, undrained 1 huge can of cannellini beans
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth in can or carton 1 carton chicken broth
  • 7 ounces a bunch of loosely packed baby spinach
  • 1 cup frozen green peas
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • Prepared pesto (found in grocer’s refrigerated section) (Vegan pesto made in my kitchen: basil, olive oil, garlic, nutritional yeast)

Chop onions.

015

Sauté in EVOO.

016

Chop parsnip and carrots.

017 018 019

Add to onions.

021

Chop sweet potato.

020 022

Add to other veggies.

023

Add un-drained tomatoes and beans and chicken broth.

024

Eat a rice cake cuz you are starving.

026

Simmer for ~20 minutes until veggies are tender.

Add peas and a couple large handfuls of spinach and some salt and pepper.

027

Stir until just wilted.

034

Serve with a dollop of pesto.

028

Enjoy!

029

And enjoy we did! This was just as good as last time, if not better!

030

I think we might add this to the regular rotation of soups! If you use vegetable broth, it is a vegan recipe too! Score!

***

Random tangent: Some of you know, others not, but this last year, I read Julie Powell’s blog that she based Julie & Julia off of. Then I read the book. Then I watched the movie.

Blog = awesome.

Book = decent.

Movie = meh.

Currently, I am reading her new book, “Cleaving” and I AM IN LOVE. I am a solid 3 chapters into the book and I am at the point where I physically do not want to put it down. I wish I could read and drive at the same time. If Jodus hadn’t gotten home at 8:30 last night, I probably would have stayed up way past my bedtime, totally engrossed. I am so glad that I turned off my laptop at 7:15 last night and gave myself a solid hour with Julie.

“Cleaving,” while you can very much tell it is Julie Powell and her style, it is so very different than Julie & Julia, yet the same. That’s exactly what I look for when I read for an author (Like Dan Brown!).

Who are your favorite authors to read?

I am a sucker for Nora Roberts but the ones that are current day not the pirates and old country crap. I also love, as I mentioned, Dan Brown. When I was a teenager, I was huge into vampire books. Now I love a good murder/mystery/suspense/romance sort of thing. Or silly girlie books like “Confessions of a Shopoholic”. I also have oodles of books on food, nutrition, alternative medicine but they have all gone untouched. I think I lack the attention span to read educational books in a non-educational setting. 😉

Also, I would be interested in doing a book swap with someone when I’m done if you are interested! Hit me up!

-L4L-

8 Responses

  1. love the rice cake pic…lol. I love a creamy GM and Amazing Grass tastes good in it. Soup looks great for a cold day like this.

  2. Ooh, I’d love to do a book swap. I love Curtis Sittenfeld (Prep, American Wife) and I just finished The 19th Wife. I’m working on The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo now. I really want to read Cleaving!

  3. Ohh do I get your ‘Cleaving’ book since I got your old Julie Julia? I am currently reading ‘Three Cups of Tea’ and it is outstanding. I highly recommend it to anyone, it shows you how much one person can make a difference!

  4. That looks fantastic!!! I love the idea of pesto on top.

  5. I love reading! My favorites are Dean Koontz, Patricia Cornwell, Agatha Christie, and the Sookie Stackhouse books. I’m not much into non-fiction. Some are good and I force myself to read them on occassion so my brain doesn’t rot (any more that it has).

  6. I will have to get that! I am a kindle girl, I hope Juila supports kindle.

    Have you ever tried audio books? I subscribe at audible.com – You can put books on your ipod and listen to them on your way to work!

  7. […] I knew it, it was lunch time. I ate the last of the Italian Vegetable Soup (LOOK! Hyperlinking! Fixed my WLW […]

Leave a Reply

