World Traveler

My food intake for today has taken me on a glorious trip around the world and back again!

We started in the Caribbean with some oatmeal, complete with a banana, dates, walnuts and coconut!

036

A small tropical adventure!

Beverages were the focus:

033

Water, juice (carrot, apple, strawberry, blueberry) and tea (pomegranate raspberry)

034

Party in my mouth and a very full belly! I only had half of the oatmeal because I was so liquid-logged!

037

For my morning snack, I hopped on over to Asia for a pear!

038

Weird freeze dried pear bits, supposedly equal to 1 1/2 pears, and much less messy to eat.

Since I was in Asia already, enjoying their fruit, I decided to hang out there for lunch too!

041

Miso soup! Jodus and I made this on Saturday night to give us some leftovers for the week.

This soup is a detox diet dream come true!

The really great thing about miso soup is that you can put pretty much whatever you want in it! Here’s what I went with:

Onion and garlic

049

Miso paste

050

Shredded carrots (please, someone, make a crude joke about the following picture!)

052

Mushrooms

054

Tofu

055

Nori black seaweed

056

Ginger

057

Other unpictured stuff: spinach, red pepper flakes, soy sauce, water

088

AND back to today’s lunch:

040 043

My favorite bites were the chewy seaweed!!

044

I wish I had cut it up smaller instead of just ripping it up out of the bag but oh well.

This afternoon, tea found its way into my presence.

046

Oh Mighty Leaf, you are so mighty and delicious!

047

And some pumpkin seeds found their way to my tummy!

048

For dinner, we headed to Africa!

063

I’m not sure if they eat sweet potato in Africa or not but I know they have Tilapia and Gomen Wat!

The sweet potatoes were roasted in the oven after they got a light coat of olive oil, lemon juice, salt, and agave.

065

The tilapia was also baked in the oven with a nice easy lemon pepper dry seasoning.

064

The Gomen Wat was the labor intensive part of dinner.

066

Start with 1 lb of collard greens.

050    

Simmer in water until tender. Drain, reserve water, set greens aside.

054

Sauté onion and garlic in some olive oil until lightly browned.

053055056

Add back in the greens and reserved water and simmer until most of the water is evaporated.

057

I am impatient and ended up draining the last of the water out. This step probably could be omitted but whatever.

Season with 1 Tbls lemon juice, 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp each of allspice, paprika, and tumeric, and 2 Tbls fresh minced ginger.

058 059060

Voila!

062

A delectable dinner!

061

For the first day of the detox, I think things went well! I got in greens, spices, lots of flavor, lots of liquids (and consequently, lots of trips to the bathroom) and didn’t really eat anything processed!

I hope you enjoyed the trip around the world as much as my palate and tummy did!

😀

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. Jodus sure does know how to rub off (I mean) shred a big carrot…Has he been practicing? I know, gross, rude comments from the L4LMom….

  2. Now that looks yummy! I will have to try cooking the banana into the oats instead of just putting them on top! Looks like you are off to a great start on your Detox plan!

  3. Um….no comment about the carrot pic. Geez.

    Today was a terrific start to our detox. The food you whipped up was filling and delicious! I didn’t really get hungry all day. Although, I did have the last of our leftover pizza for lunch….maybe that’s why I didn’t get hungry?

Leave a Reply

