Detox: Week 1

Today is Day One of my 3 week detox! After last night’s (and the last few weeks) indulgences, I am more than ready!

As I have said before, I am pretty  much replicating a detox program I did last year under the supervision of a Dietitian that I volunteered for. I am not an expert so please consult a professional if you have a lot of questions or concerns about detox!

Curious as to why I’m detoxing? Read this for a quick rundown!

So as I have mentioned, the detox is about decreasing and eliminating certain foods and really ramping up in the produce department. Here’s a cut and dry version of what I am following this first week.

And if you are following along with me, please note that I am basically an all-or-nothing kind of gal so a lot of the “decrease” things, I just straight up eliminate! But don’t stress it if you are still working on the decreasing! That’s what this week is for!

Decrease/Begin to Eliminate

Coffee

Alcohol

Sugar – look for evaporated cane juice, fructose, sucrose, high fructose corn syrup, etc to avoid also! They are all just different forms of sugar! Also avoid artificial sweeteners!

Refined Carbs – basically anything with white flour

Dairy – Rice/Almond/Oat milks are great alternatives this week! I’ll be sticking to my Vanilla Soymilk to save $$ but ideally, an unsweetened Almond milk is your best bet!

Animal Products – except fish and eggs

Processed Foods – frozen meals, packaged food items, etc.

Fruit Juices – this week, I am allowing myself homemade juices because there is no added sugars but after this week, no more juice!

Chemicals

Nicotine

Refined Oils – avoid safflower, sunflower, corn, soybean, and canola oils

Increase

Water – aim for 8 glasses a day!

Herbal/Green Teas

Veggies  – focus on colorful veggies and lots of green!! Asparagus, artichoke, broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, cabbage, kale, collards, dandelion greens, watercress, beets, radishes, burdock root, spinach, chard, squash, sweet potatoes

Fruit – BRIGHT colors! Berries, apples, melons

Plant sources of protein – beans, tofu, tempeh, edamame, nuts, some egg ok.

Whole Grains – brown rice, quinoa, kasha, barley, oats, millet, corn, whole wheat

Nuts/Seeds – almonds, walnuts, cashews, pecans, Brazil nuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds

Spices & Herbs – garlic, onion, basil, cilantro, chives, rosemary, parsley, garam masala, cumin, the list is endless!

Unrefined Oils – Olive, Sesame, coconut oil

Support The Program

There are other ways than just your diet to support this program!

Decrease your exposure to negative people and electronics (yay right) and try to exercise, practice yoga, use a sauna/steam room, practice deep breathing, and try not to eat late at night. And as I have discussed before, I recommend a fish oil, probiotic, and vitamin C daily regime as well as Vitamin D for all you Pacific Northwesterners that haven’t seen the sun in eons!

***

Throughout the coming weeks, I am going to strive to dedicate one post a day to a specific food or action and how it promotes detoxification!

Don’t forget to check out what was in my grocery cart this week!

Do you have any questions yet? What is more intriguing to you about this program?

-L4L-

7 Responses

  1. I have done a similar program twice in the past and both times I have come put of it feeling amazing! Good luck for the next 3 weeks!! =)

  2. Sounds like a great plan! 🙂 I could always use more water and more veggies!

  3. Day one for me too! Today was a breeze. I did notice that I get hungrier right after lunch, so I am going to play with what snacks will keep me satisfied until dinner time.

  4. I love the layout of this post. It’s very helpful. The only thing I don’t like about this post are the first two items on the “Decrease/Begin to Eliminate” list. Sigh.

    I’m enjoying our second round of detoxifying. I was a little scared going into it last year, but now I know what to expect.

Leave a Reply

