The Ones

I like dates like today: 1/1/10. Makes me smile.

You know what else makes me smile?

Bacon.

Breakfast

The boy was a champ and whipped up breakfast this AM while I got ready for Nordie’s. He made a scramble.

Bell Pepper + Onion

057

Bacon (leftover from yesterday)

058

Plus 4 eggs

059

Scrambled

061

Topped with sour cream

062 063

I heart bacon.

Lunch

I had last night’s leftovers. General Tso chicken and some Mongolian Beef. No rice. Just straight up meat with a few veggies hiding.

064

And 2 chocolates for dessert!

Dinner

The boy was a champ and got started on the chopping for dinner while I was getting off work.

Tonight’s meal plan: Chicken Parmesan

118

He started by chopping some onion and shallot.

065 066 067 069

Apparently the shallot was quite intense and made him cry.

068

Poor baby.

When I got home, I filleted a couple chicken breasts, ran them through a whole grain breadcrumb mix, and cooked them up in a bit of oil then set aside.

073 074 075 076 079

Next, I sautéed the onion, shallot, and a huge helping of garlic.

081 085

Added about a cup of wine and simmered it for awhile.

088

Then I added 2 cans of tomato sauce, salt, pepper, a dash of cayenne, and fresh basil.

097 098 100 101 103 104

After simmering a bit, and a couple of taste testings, I placed the chicken back in the pan, topped with some shaved parmesan, and simmered a bit longer.

105 106 108 110 111

The chicken was served over spaghetti noodles.

071116  

This whole time, I sipped on a pineapple + rum that Jodus made for me! (And gin + tonic for him!)

077 078

Dinner was superb. I’m really preferring using canned tomato sauce instead of jars of spaghetti sauce. There is more of a tomato flavor and it saves $$$.

117 119

Dessert

Another drink!

120

And So Delicious ice cream!

121

We are watching Charlie Brown Christmas (cuz we haven’t gotten around to it before now!) and then heading to bed! More work tomorrow, 10-6. Boo.

-L4L-

2 Responses

  1. Yum … a day full of delicious food! : )

    Ha, I never did watch Charlie Brown Christmas either … but I am drinking out of a Christmas mug if that counts for anything.

  2. i love how whole wheat spaghetti holds together so much better 🙂 looks great

    xxx peony

Leave a Reply

