Christmas Day 2009

It was a very busy holiday for us this year! We were up at 7, showered and ready to scoot out of the house by 8:30 for an almost 2 hour drive to my mom’s side of the fam.

Breakfast was a delicious breakfast sandwich: complete with whole wheat english muffin, an egg, bacon, and some mayo and pepper.

133 135

With coffee and OJ.

132

Then we hit the road! Last year, we had a white Christmas, this year, not so much. It made traveling much easier.

And somehow I managed to not really take any pictures with Oma, Aunt Steph, and Allissa! We were only around for maybe an hour or so before having to head over to my Dad’s side of the fam for a late lunch.

My Grandma Sue has two new cute kitties!

Bunker

141 151 161 165 166

And Messello

144 158 189 164

If I had a pet, I’d be one of those crazy pet owner bloggers that spammed you with pics of their lovelies on the daily! 😉 Lucky for you, I am slightly allergic to my furry friends.

My Grandma’s house had lovely decorations up and the table looked lovely!

138 

The snowflakes on the napkins are handmade (by my Grandma!) ornaments for the guests!

139 167

I really like my grandparents house! It’s always a work in progress but it is so homey!

Stove/heater:

186

Library with reading corner:

190 191

Pretty much first thing when we got there, we were handed hot butter rum’s!

145 146 147

So good!

And there was an array of some munchies to fend off hunger for our late lunch!

150 152

I made a small plate…

154

(Meatballs, cracker + tapenade, rice cracker + salmon cheese ball, devilled eggs)

And a second of more meatballs…

156

And I may have munched on a couple more things!

While the grub was cookin’ up, my Grandma made me a cocktail!

168

Cosmopolitan, Leahfied. We added an extra splash of triple sec and an extra glug of cranberry juice.

157

Mmmmm so good!

When dinner rolled around, we cracked open some red wine.

173

The spread was fantastic!

I brought this green salad with gorgonzola, red onion, navel orange pieces, walnuts, and an orange vinaigrette.

170 

Marinated shrimp

171 

Orange and pineapple skewers

172

(And unpictured green beans and a rice salad)

But the highlight, of course, was a mean prime rib!

155 176 177 181 185

Jodus was ready to EAT!

184

My plate:

178 192 193

Then we had obligatory family pictures!

195 196 198 199 200 201

And dessert was ice cream + a cherries sauce! Yum!

208 209

I was given a hot butter rum for the road!

216

I drank it then passed out for half of the drive home. 😀

(I was tired!)

We came home with a lot of goodies! Leftovers + baked goods + seasonings + a new necklace!

217 218 219 221

Managed to make it home by 6pm with a tree full of presents from Jodus’ side of the family (and one from my Aunt!).

002023 019 013 026 030 036 048

(Waffle Wednesdays, here we come!)

050 052056065 069

Cookies from Jodus’ sister!

072 079 085 095

Our new ornaments from this year:

098 099 100 101 102 103 104

We ended up putting a movie in, sharing some leftover lasagna and hitting the hay.

Merry Christmas!

Thank you to all of our fantastic family members for the wonderful presents! I look forward to using them all soon!

And to all my readers, all 10 of you, I hope that you had a very Merry Christmas as well!

What is the one gift you are most excited about?

We are stoked on the waffle iron, and of course the knives my mother gave us! Of course you knew my answer would be kitchen-centric! 😉

-L4L-

6 Responses

  1. You got a fancy spinning one!! Ohh, you are gonna make some high quality waffles in that thing – can’t wait to see it!!

    Must add prime rib to the list of meat I have to try now that I’m a meat-atarian.

    Obviously, I’m most excited for my camera. But my sis also gave me a gift certificate to a local running store, perfect cause I need new running shoes! 😀

  2. Looks like you had a great time! =)
    My H – aka Santa – brought me a MAC!!!!! It is still at the store as I need to go pick it out with my accesories but I am so excited! My mom also bought me a vegan cookbook!

  3. Flamingo ornaments, tell me it’s not true…things really do pass on in a wierd way. Looks like a fabulous time, and looks like that prime rib turned out a bit better then ours (Lonnie is getting tired of hearing about it so mums the word on this comment) Luv ya.

  4. I think you’d be surprised at the number of silent, loyal readers you have. Take me, for example. I live your blog! It’s one of my top 3 favorite blogs and I read everyday!

  5. WOW! It looks like you had quite the day! I love your grandmother’s table setting and tree – so pretty! And your pics of you and Jodus opening gifts were so funny. I love your expressions 🙂

Leave a Reply

