Walking Disaster

This morning was glorious! I didn’t make it downstairs until nearly 10am! I immediately turned on last night’s episode of Ugly Betty and did some farming.

I broke for breakfast around 11am. I didn’t feel like cooking anything for just me.

I’m inherently lazy.

So I just cut up an apple and had some almond honey butter with it.

001

Yeah, straight out of the jar.

006

Why dirty up another dish? Or what if I wanted more than I portioned out? I’m bad.

I probably had 2 Tbls of the jazz.

 

I have a confession.

You already know I am lazy.

This happens to go hand in hand with being messy.

Jodus is amazing at staying on top of chores. Me? Not so much. And with him gone, just over 24 hours now, the place is already a disaster zone. Last night when I came home, I just dropped everything.

I didn’t do the dishes.

I didn’t even put the bags from the groceries away. But at least the groceries got put away!

I’m the kind of person that lets things build up until they are unbearable! I don’t do continual damage control. It’s just not how I work.

I try. I really do.

If I were left to my own devices, I am sure my townhouse would resemble Meghann’s disaster zone!

I don’t even want to know what the house is going to look like when the boy is gone for 3 weeks in Jan/Feb for training!

So after breakfast, I spent some time tiding up, just because I know I won’t have time to do it tomorrow morning before I leave for work and Jodus gets home. (haha)

 

For lunch, I made a shrimp & quinoa dish that I saw on The Chic Life this week.

While I cooked, I had a couple few crackers + cheese spread…

007

Spiced Shrimp Quinoa
by me

serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups chicken stock/broth
  • 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/2-3/4 lbs peeled, deveined shrimp
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • dash red pepper flakes (or more depending on how spicy you like it)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • toasted pine nuts, to top and for garnish

Directions:

  • Pre-heat a medium pot over medium heat. Add 1 tbsp olive oil. Add onion and cook till translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Add garlic, cook for 1 minute. Add cumin, turmeric, chili powder, and oregano and cook for 1 minute. Add chicken stock and bring to a boil. Add quinoa, lower heat to simmer, cover pot, and cook for 20-25 minutes, until quinoa is tender.
  • Meanwhile (near end of quinoa cooking time), pre-heat a medium saute pan over medium heat. Add other tbsp olive oil to pan. Season shrimp with salt and pepper. Add shrimp to pan and saute till shrimp are cooked through, about 3-5 minutes (give or take depending on size of shrimp used).
  • When quinoa is done, add peas to top of quinoa, then cooked shrimp, cover and let cook for 1 minute.
  • Remove lid, stir.
  • Serve topped with toasted pine nuts.
  • I basically doubled the recipe to have some leftovers to get us through the week.

    I also used 1 cup of the turkey stock leftover from Thanksgiving and 2 cups water because I feel like my stock is really concentrated.

    I got halfway through the cooking to realize that I didn’t have any chili powder. Oops. So I just added a dash of cayenne and called it good.

    And lots of red pepper flakes with the shrimp!

    I also didn’t have any pine nuts. I thought about chopping up some walnuts and toasting them but the thought of dirtying up another pan/cuttingboard/knife was just too much so I omitted that too.

    012

    I also sautéed some zucchini on the side in some salt, pepper, and olive oil. I was so excited when I saw zucchini at TJ’s last night and I thought it was a good price. I love zucchini and it is hands down the thing I miss the most about the Farmer’s Market.

    011

    The zucchini was amazingly perfect. And the shrimp dish was good! I felt like it was maybe missing something but I couldn’t put my finger on it. Maybe the toasted nuts? Hm..

    010

    For dinner, I am packing a simple salad of arugula and tomato. And some hummus (also to be used as “dressing”) and crackers.

    008 009

    So now that it is after 2pm, I may want to consider showering… right? I have to leave at 3:30 for work. Maybe I can get Chemistry done too? Yeah right…

    PS – All is well with Jodus and Salt Lake City! It’s snowing but he’s glad to be there and he’s spending a lot of time with his family. He has also acquired a “new” laptop and got one of his old winter coats too! I’m ready for him to be home though.

    -L4L-

    4 Responses

    1. Cheese and crackers looked great! Yeah i was lazy this week and didn’t tidy up. Now, that’s my Sunday goal. spic and span.

    2. Leah, you are not alone. I am a SLOB. It’s not that I purposely don’t clean up after myself either, it’s that I honestly just don’t think of it. And once something has been messy for a while, I can easily forget it’s even there. I’m working on it too, but badly 😛

    3. Leah, how many times have I told you to clean your room….seriously thought you’d grow out of it. It’s a good thing you have Jodus.

    4. I’m amazing at chores… you’re amazing at cooking. It all balances out. I’m glad you had a couple days with down time where you could be yourself and not have to deal with your pesky H2B. 😉

    Leave a Reply

