ImprompTuesday: Shepherds Pie

Going into today’s ImprompTuesday, I knew I wanted to use the package of ground turkey that was in the fridge from Sunday night when I opted out of making Shepherd’s Pie  due to a ground meat overload!

This morning, I was thinking maybe I would make taco salads.

But then All Recipes posted their recipe of the day and it was Wasabi Mashed Potatoes.

Ohmigod that sounds so good.

Then the wheels in my noggin’ started turning.

I made an Asian-Inspired Shepherd’s Pie!

Started by cooking up the ground turkey, adding some ginger, garlic, soy sauce, and brown sugar.

021 022 024 025

Then I  made the mashed potatoes by boiling a bunch of red potatoes, draining them, then adding half and half, butter, roasted garlic, pepper, and lots of wasabi powder!

015 016 017 018 028 029 030 031 032 033

For the veggies, I just heated up some frozen edamame, diced up a carrot, and got some frozen corn.

019 020

Then layer it all together and bake it in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes.

026 027 034

I flipped it to broil for a few to toasty up the taters.

035 036

It was quite good! Very unique and I like it! I like that I took a sort of classic American/Irish (??!?) dish and gave it an Asian flair!

037 038

Jodus gives it a B+. I think it could have used more veggies but other than that, it was tasty! I would have also have preferred to use a low-sodium soy sauce because the turkey was a tad salty.

 040

We ate in front of the TV, watching Saw IV!

041 042

And I sipped a Gingerale!

There will probably be peppermint bark or ice cream in my future. 😀

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. Ooh I love Shephard’s Pie! Your version looks amazing 🙂

  2. I haven’t had shephard’s pie in SO long! It used to be one of my favourites as a kid… Although, I like mine slathered in ketchup 😉

  3. Your Asian-Inspired Shepherd’s Pie was so darn tasty. Your creativity never ceases to amaze me. I really look forward to the leftovers.

  4. […] Asian Sheppard’s Pie (last time) […]

Leave a Reply

