Switching Tracks

Hello loves!

Morning Snack:

Lunch:

Leftover spaghetti + a tootsie roll! 😀 It’s that kind of day!

Proposed dinner + snacks:

Leftover Ragout + a smooshed PBJ larabar + TJ’s dried apple rings

We’ll see how much of that I actually eat tonight.

So… the whole “switching tracks” thing.

As most of your know, I have been taking classes at night for the last year to knock out some pre-reqs and retaking some classes to get a GPA bump. Last year, I applied to Bastyr University to pursue a Masters in Dietetics. I didn’t make the cut in this extremely competitive program that only lets in about 30 people a year from what I understand.

Upon meeting with some advisors, it is going to take a lot of time and energy for me to actually get to the point where I am considered a competitive candidate, thanks to less than stellar grades for my undergrad and a lack of professional experience. Even after learning this information, I was still willing to give it a shot so I registered for Chemistry this past quarter and am currently rocking an “A”. I have one month left of class.

Today is registration day for Winter quarter. After discussing my/our options in great depth this weekend with my darling H2B, I pretty much have come to the conclusion that I am not going to register for class for the winter quarter and instead, I am going to look for a part time (or all together new that pays more) job.

My reasons are completely financial. Part of it has to do with my bosses situation and the fact that he does not have the ability to give me the promised raises and benefits partially due to his cancer and partially to the unrecovered economy. Part of it has to do with the fact that we I have a significant amount of debt from school the first go around plus my car blah blah blah. I think that our situation is to the point where if I even got accepted into the program, I wouldn’t be able to go because even if I got loans to cover school, we can’t afford to have me not working and I can’t work with the demands of the program.

So, today (and yesterday), I went full force into looking for part time (and full time) work. I have been looking previously, just not quite as seriously. I’ve discussed my situation with my boss and he completely supports me and he feels bad that he can’t afford to keep me around and pay me what I need to make that happen.

So where do I go from here?

Hopefully, I find a better paying full time job that allows me to continue to go to school in the evenings and continue to work towards my educational goals while building up a financial safety net instead of scraping pay check to pay check. If not, hopefully I can get a part time gig to put me in a better financial situation but obviously this is not ideal. At this point though, I don’t see the point in continuing to take classes to make tiny progress on my application for a program I wouldn’t be able to go into.

So that’s where I am at.

Sorry for all the words. If you actually read them, I know you care, and I greatly appreciate you just being my sounding board. 🙂

-L4L-

9 Responses

  1. Good luck!

    I never thought I’d be where I am now. I honestly thought I was a failure by not becoming a career attorney, but I couldn’t be happier in my new job. Sometimes detours are for the best!

  2. Good Luck Leah!

    Change is ultimately good, because at the very least, new experiences allow you to learn something about yourself. Whenever I take a turn I didn’t think I would choose, I think of my favorite poet (I’m an Literature dork) Robert Frost:

    “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.”

    Maybe it’s not the path you thought you were going to choose, but it’s the path that will get you where you’re going 🙂

  3. I sort of understand what you’re saying … I’m currently working full time and have mulled over and over whether or not to go back to school and face similar situations. It’s hard when a program is so extensive that you wouldn’t be able to succeed while having a job that supports you financially.

    But no matter what … I believe that everything will work out for the best!! 😀 Good luck in your job search!

  4. The way I see it, life is loooooong and we have lots of time to accomplish our goals! It often takes many detours to finally get where we want to be. No rush, just do what makes you happy 🙂 (and financially secure. ugh. stupid money)

  5. You can just tell people, “my little brother doesn’t have to go to school, so why should I?”
    Seriously good luck Leah, so cliche but I’m a total believer in the whole “things happen for a reason” way of thinking. I’ll be sending out some good energy into the universe for ya!

  6. It sounds like you’re making the right decision for you at this time, instead of trying to make something fit that doesn’t, right now. I’m looking into grad school next year and honeslty, I have no idea how it’s going to work between the money and the time it’ll eat up. Good luck on the job hunt(s)!

  7. Hey chickie,

    Just some success stories to reassure you that waiting to pursue your education is OK:

    My friend Melissa from college’s mom went back to school to become an oncologist (that’s right a cancer doctor!) in her thirties.

    My mom went back to school in her forties to get her degree in what she is currently doing and couldn’t be happier.

    I am perpetually in school and am 4 years older than you 🙂

    You will get to where you want to be chica! Just take your time and do what you need to now while knowing that you have PLENTY of time to pursue being a brain surgeon in your future 😉

    Love you!

  8. Sounds like you made the best decision. I hate when my internal time table doesn’t match my economic time table! I too would love to go to graduate school but it’s not feasible right now!

  9. Leah, sounds like you’ve got a lot of support for your decision. You know in your heart what you need to do. You are already way ahead of most people…keep in mind your momma didn’t even graduate from college until last year! It’ll work out, it always does.

Leave a Reply

