Office Odors

Have you ever smelled something so awful in your workplace that you can literally not focus on your work?

No, I’m not talking about the guy with the B.O. in the cubicle next to you.

Today, I was the culprit.

Or rather, my smoked salmon chowder was.

And I still haven’t fessed up.

Everyone is walking around, “What the hell is that smell?”

“It smells like hotdogs!”

“Ugh, that smell is making me nauseous!”

I’m so embarassed. Normally, people say that my food smells fabulous. I should have learned from Linn’s fish a couple weeks ago that people no likey the reheated seafood smell. Mental note to minimize seafood leftovers.

In an attempt to dispose of any evidence, I’ve covered my tracks by hiding my lunch box with said container, chewing gum, lotioning my hands, spritzing my office area, and also participating in the “EW, what’s that smell?” conversations.

Really, it isn’t my fault. Really.

The microwave is in this little room (with a door!) just off of the foyer w/ the receptionist desk and it is a high traffic zone. Everyone props the door open to the room with the kitchenette area and copier/printer/mailboxes. 

My Gripe #1:  If the door was shut, it wouldn’t have been so bad.

My Gripe #2: There is no break room or eating area in our office. I have to carry my hotdog smelling meal back through the office to my desk. Maybe if they hadn’t torn down our break room to make (another) conference room, this wouldn’t be an issue!

My Gripe #3: Jodus said that no one complained at his work. His words, “[he] got great feedback when [he] warmed [his] up!” Why do I work with pansies?!

(PS – I had a cup of hot cocoa this morning. No one complained about that!)

-L4L-

6 Responses

  1. The people you work with must be pansies……that leftover salmon was yummy!!

  2. Hahaha, this post is hilarious. I like to bring boiled eggs to work sometimes and get SO paranoid that people are going to think I’m a farting machine or something 😛 I always try to bring an orange, or something really fragrant, to eat after to hide it.

  3. Lmao! I reheated salmon patties last week while these women I can’t stand were in the lunch room. If you don’t like it, go elsewhere.

  4. Haha at work a guy always heats up his seafood leftovers and Mitch (who hasn’t worked at the museum for over 2 years) still talks about how nasty it was. My office is right next to our kitchen so I always smell whatever anyone is making, but I usually don’t mind

  5. hahah fish is always tough in an office setting. As long as it was tasty …thats all that matters 🙂 Happy Friday

  6. HILARIOUS!!! I love how you participated in the “Ew! What’s that smell” conversation!!! Priceless!!!

Leave a Reply

