Grocery Challenge Underway!

After work, and fighting traffic for an hour, I dropped into the grocery store to get just a few things. I had $8 and a bunch of change in my wallet and I knew I didn’t want to spend more than that.

010 011

Total: $8.24! Booya! And yay for 30% savings!

The Silk Soy Nog was a total splurge. Obviously. The yogurt was to get Jodus through next week (and it was on sale! Only 59 cents each!). The flour and yeast are for the bread… that is currently cooking away in the bread maker!

Leah’s Agave Amaranth-Wheat Bread

1 1/8 cup warm water

1/4 cup agave

2 Tbls canola oil

1/2 tsp salt

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup amaranth flour

1 1/2 tsp yeast

I based this off of reading a few recipes. It was hard to find something that didn’t require additional gluten or milk or some other ingredient I didn’t have. We’ll see how it turns out.

Dinner was my third impromptu sort of night in a row!

I started by sautéing a few sliced mushrooms, half an onion, and some minced garlic in some canola oil and butter.

014

Then I added a bunch of asparagus and simmered a bit longer.

015

And about a pound of shrimp, simmer a few.

016

Lots of salt and pepper.

017 

The juice of 1 lemon, simmer.

019 020 021

3 diced roma tomatoes.

023

Serve over pasta, top with parmesan cheese.

026 027 028

Jodus gives it a B. I feel like it is a lot like other dishes I have made in the past. I’m rather unadventurous with shrimp I suppose. Not sure why.

Our evening will be filled with grossness.

029

Ew. We are watching THEM ALL throughout the next week or so!

This weekend, Jodus and I are planning on deep cleaning and purging our place. I get the itch to do that from time to time. 😉

Do you have any fun plans for this weekend?

I am sad I won’t be in San Fran at the Foodbuzz Festival! 😦

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for the comment on my blog!! Woohoo for grocery savings! I was definitely born and raised a grocery sales gal 🙂 Love the look of that SHRIMP!!

  2. This weekend I’m running a 10K a then going out with the girls to see Where the Wild Things are and eat cake at a local dessert shop. It’s going to be grand 🙂

  3. The Silk Nog is sooo good! My Krogers doesn’t have it yet though! 😦

Leave a Reply

