On A Whim Wednesday

Being that class was cancelled, I had to think on my feet for dinner tonight. I think it turned out decently well!

034

I started by baking some sweet potatoes and roasting some sliced carrots in a little olive oil and salt.

024

After about 45 minutes, I started sautéing half an onion and a spoonful of minced garlic (not fresh).

Then I added a can of drained garbanzo beans and diced tomatoes.

025 027

And mixed in the carrots.

Then the fun part: spices.

I started with 2 tsp of Jamaican Jerk.

026

1 tsp of salt.

028

1/4 tsp of cayenne. If you aren’t hardcore like us, you will want to reduce this amount.

029

Simmer for a bit. Serve over sweet potato.

030

With mobs of green beans on the side.

031

😀

033

The boy gave it an B+. I give it a B-. Serious spice.

***

This afternoon, prior to dinner, I made a pear crisp, as inspired by Ree Drummond.

Pear-Cinnamon Crisp with Vanilla Ice Cream

Filling
4 to 5 large pears
2/3 1/3 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt

Topping
1 1/2 cups all-purpose whole wheat flour
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon plus 1/8 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup pecans walnuts, very finely chopped
1 2 (oops! not on purpose!) stick (8 tablespoons) melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Peel, core, and dice pears. Place into a bowl and stir together with 2/3 cup sugar and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Set aside.
In a separate bowl, combine flour, sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and pecans. Stir together. Drizzle melted butter gradually, stirring with a fork as you go until all combined.
Pour pears into a baking dish; top with crumb topping.
Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
Place pan on top rack of oven for an additional 10 minutes, or until topping is golden brown.
Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

So here are my shots…

013 014 015 016 017 018 019 020 021 022 036 037 038

The flavor was good, but I was sad about how runny it was. Maybe my pears were too ripe? This is (I think) the third recipe of The Pioneer Woman’s that I have done. I haven’t been terribly impressed thus far, unfortunately, but maybe it is because I am a retard? It makes me sad because I love her blog and her photography and her humor. 😦 Regardless, Jodus loved it so I guess that’s all that matters.

-L4L-

3 Responses

  1. I love your ideas!!

  2. Your pear crisp looks yummy!

  3. I am soooooooo *darn* happy that your class was cancelled. It was really nice having you home. Especially since you whipped up such a creative (and tasty) dinner.

Leave a Reply

