ImprompTuesday: Smoked Salmon Chowder

After work, I went home, changed, dinked around a bit, then hit the pavement. I walked down to where Jodus gets off his van. Took me about an hour, and 3.36 miles. Yay! I think tomorrow I will not walk and give my footsies a rest.

My timing was perfect for arriving to the van spot. Jodus was just getting to his car! We rode home and started our dinner up.

Dad gave me a bunch of smoked salmon over the weekend so I had every intention of using that as our focus. I knew I didn’t want to do any sort of pasta dish. I thought of maybe making a soup with it for something different. I decided to make a sort of seafood chowder.

I started, with Jodus’ help, by roasted some garlic in the oven, chopping up some potatoes, onion, and carrots.

017 019

I added some fresh thyme and rosemary, salt and pepper.

021022 024025

I brought them to a boil in 4 cups of chicken broth then turned it down to medium.

018 030

Then Jodus and I went and did a 20 min session of yoga for runners!

And we came down to a smokey kitchen! Eeks!

031 032 

I transferred the not-burnt bits to a new pot, added 2 more cups of chicken broth and a cup and a half of frozen corn and the roasted garlic.

034 033

I added a couple dashes of hot sauce, some more salt and pepper.

026

Then I added all the delicious smoked salmon.

027 029 035

Some plain yogurt.

036

And some half and half.

Sorry no measurements! Just did it all to consistency and taste!

037

Jodus really liked it.

038

I just thought it was decent.

039

I’d rather have my dad’s salmon ball!

The rest of our evening:

041

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. I’m getting my copy of Food Inc here shortly – I can’t wait!
    And Cholula is a staple here in our pantry – we use it on everything!

  2. Great ImprompTuesday. What a creative way to use the smoked salmon that your dad gave us. I’d love to have this again.

    Thanks again, for being patient while I become acclimated to doing yoga. I need a lot more practice!

  3. That chowder looks delicious! Did you get the recipe from Stonyfield because I saw something very similar on my yogurt lid…and I saved it because it looked so good (but yours sounds better). Grr I wish Mitch liked salmon…or soup for that matter.

Leave a Reply

