Breaking It Down

Sorry for not posting after lunch.

I kind of had a little mini breakdown.

I had a pretty tough conversation with one of the ladies in my office about my job and it shook me up pretty bad.

At this point, it is looking more and more like I may not even have a job through the end of the year. Unfortunately, this is not by choice, like it has been for other blogger bee’s out there going through significant life changes this past year.

I don’t really want to get into the details at the moment. This is kind of hard for me to deal with since I am not at all (financially) prepared to be unemployed (again).

But I know I have the love and support of Jodus, my family, and my friends so everything will be just dandy.

Because I got myself all worked up into a funk this afternoon, I could not drag myself into the gym. I just couldn’t.

Instead, I called my dad and chatted with him on the drive home then proceeded to sit my ass down on the couch with a piece of peppermint bark. Yes, this was emotional eating. Yes, this is not good. Sue me.

I did manage to muster up some motivation to do a little yoga. I started off with Dave Farmar’s 90 min Power Vinyasa class from Yoga Download and only  made it about 25 shaky minutes through. Gross, I know, but I was having a hard time breathing with snot running down my throat and I kept burping up lunch.

024 025

I’m glad to be done with the chili leftovers. They were good, don’t get me wrong. But I met my limit with 4 servings in 1 week. Mental note: next time, freeze some of it.

ANYWAY, after I gave up on Yoga, I had a quick convo with Jodus then applied to like 5 jobs to make me feel a tiny bit better. And it actually worked.

Dinner was easy.

I baked up two salmon filets topped with a mixture of Screamin’ Strawberry Jam + Vinegar + Salt + Pepper.

028

I made mashed potatoes out of red skin potatoes, diced and boiled and drained, mashed with roasted garlic, half and half, butter, salt, and pepper.

026

And some frozen green beans.

027

There is no such thing as portion control when it comes to veggies. 😉

029

I also had a splash of wine.

030

It was yum.

031

So ready for bed. It’s been a long day.

-L4L-

6 Responses

  1. Hugs! You dinner looked delicious, if that makes you feel better. I’m glad applying for jobs helped. My brother’s in a similar situation and I asked him what he was doing about it and his answer was, “not thinking about it.”

  2. looks awesome! i love mashed potatoes AND salmon. I’m sorry about the stuff with your job, i hope it all works out for you! I read your blogs all the time, i should comment more

  3. Aw Leah, I am so sorry to hear about the job situation. Especially since this was not your decision. BUT it does mean there’s a possibility of a new fantastic job out there for you 🙂 It’s just a little bump in the road and I’m sure you’ll come out better on the other side. And honestly, sitting on the couch and eating peppermint bark sounds like the perfect comfort too me! Hugs!! xo

    Oh! And jam on salmon sounds fantastic, must try that.

  4. Best of luck on the job. It’s difficult when things change without us expecting it. I hope it all works out for you!

    And I’m with you on the chili… definitely freeze some for next time.

  5. Dinner was amazing (so are you). I know there are lots of variables about the job that you can’t control. Hang in there. Things will work out. And if they don’t, we can just load up on peppermint bark and wine. hehe.

    (Thank you Hallie, Melody, and Susan!)

    Kudos for trying to do Yoga on a day you didn’t feel like doing anything. You’re such a trooper!

  6. Sorry to hear you are in a tough spot! You seem like the type of person who can anything you set you mind to so I think this will end successfully!

Leave a Reply

