ImprompTuesday: Brinner

I am proud to report that I went to the gym today!

AND I was reasonably successful!

Recalling Susan’s post from years ago about the different kind of ellipticals, I decided I should try my hand at a different style than what I had previously been using that inflicted pain in my foot.

Today, I picked a rear-drive as opposed to previously used arc-trainer style.

Success!

I opted for a lower resistance as to not add excessive pressure to my feet, settling in at level 6 (out of 20) and rocking it for 30 minutes with only a very slight discomfort in my foot that I worked through. I kept a quick pace with my heart rate staying in the 160’s after warming up!

After ellipticizing, I did very light upper body weights just to get back into the swing of things. Using 8 lb DB’s, I did single sets of 10 reps on the following:

  • Bicep Curl
  • Tricep Extension
  • Shoulder Press
  • Front Arm Raises
  • Planked Rows
  • Tricep Overhead Push
  • Push-ups (10!!!)

I am super proud of the push-ups because a) I am a weakling and b) it has been forever since I worked out and c) that means I haven’t lost a ton of muscle! YAY!

So I burned 390 calories at the gym. All in a day’s work! 😉

Brinner

Being that it is ImprompTuesday, I didn’t start contemplating dinner until mid morning. I knew we had spinach and potatoes I wanted to use.

I decided on making a crustless quiche with hash browns.

For the quiche, I sautéed 1 diced medium onion, 2 minced cloves of garlic, and massive amounts of spinach.

In a medium bowl, I whisked together 5 eggs and ~1/3 cup of half & half, salt, and pepper.

I combined the sautéed mess in the bowl and added 8oz of shredded white cheddar cheese.

I put it all in a greased pie pan and baked at 400* for 25 minutes.

017 018

It was delicious. But I didn’t quite let it set long enough.

The hash browns, I diced up 6 small red potatoes, half a large onion, one red bell pepper, and 2 garlic cloves.

019

It was a perfect dinner brinner.

020 021

In the mean time, I baked up pumpkin seeds from this weekend! I did one batch of cinnamon sugar and one batch of season salt.

023 024 027

We are watching The Beach and going to bed!

xoxo

-L4L-

2 Responses

  1. Woo hoo for making it to the gym! Good for you 🙂

  2. Again, congratulations on making it to the gym! Sounds like you had a really nice workout. I’m happy to hear that your feet didn’t bother you. Woot!

    You put me to shame. I simply HAD to skip the gym last night. Ok, maybe I didn’t HAVE TO. I just wasn’t in the mood (which is a poor excuse). I’ll be going tonight for sure.

    Brinner was so good! I especially liked the homemade hashbrowns. You’re awesome!!

Leave a Reply

