Chicken Parmesan

Saturday night, we stayed in and had a grand old time with the exception of a tiny meltdown I had.

Jodus and I prepared a delicious dinner to impress his dad with!

Last week, I had seen Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Parm recipe and I knew I wanted to try it out.

 

Chicken Parmigiana

4 to 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, trimmed and pounded flat I used 3 huge Costco chicken breasts and cut them in half
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
Salt & Pepper to taste
1/2 cup olive oil I used maybe only a third of a cup
2 tablespoons butter
1 medium onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup wine—white or red is fine omitted because of my antibiotics
Three 14.5-ounce cans crushed tomatoes I used one large 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and one 14 oz can of diced tomatoes
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley omitted
1 generous cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
Thin linguine Whole Wheat Spaghetti noodles instead

Mix flour, salt, and pepper together on a large plate.
Dredge flattened chicken breasts in flour mixture. Set aside.
Heat olive oil and butter together in a large skillet over medium heat. When butter is melted and oil/butter mixture is hot, fry chicken breasts until nice and golden brown on each side, about 2 to 3 minutes per side.
Remove chicken breasts from the skillet and keep warm.
Without cleaning skillet, add onions and garlic and gently stir for 2 minutes. Pour in wine and scrape the bottom of the pan, getting all the flavorful bits off the bottom. Allow wine to cook down until reduced by half, about 2 minutes.
Pour in crushed tomatoes and stir to combine. Add sugar and more salt and pepper to taste.
Allow to cook for 30 minutes.

*Cook linguine until al dente*

Toward the end of cooking time, add chopped parsley and give sauce a final stir.
Carefully lay chicken breasts on top of the sauce and completely cover them in grated Parmesan. Place lid on skillet and reduce heat to low. Allow to simmer until cheese is melted and chicken is thoroughly heated. Add more cheese to taste.
Place cooked noodles on a plate and cover with sauce. Place chicken breast on top and sprinkle with more parsley.
Serve immediately.

003

I do not own a meat mallet so I just used my rolling pin! 😀

004 005

These guys were massive! Hence the halving of the boobs. 😉

006 008 010 011 012 013 014 015 016 019  025 028

I decided to listen to Ree’s suggestion for adding fresh basil to the chicken. The leaves were huge! So I just put one large leaf on a few of the chicken pieces.

029 024031 038

Please note the watery-ness of the sauce on the plate in the bottom right corner. 😦

Jodus made his “famous” Caesar salad to accompany. I didn’t get a lot of shots of him at work.

001 002 017 023 032 033

And we made a loaf of whole grain garlic bread.

035 040

The men enjoyed Shiraz while I sipped water. 😦 Red wine would have been lovely with this meal!

039 042 043

After dinner, the boys played Wii while I hunkered down in the kitchen with a surprise for Jodus’ dad.

057063

My secret project: Dutch Apple Pie

045

I’ve never made a homemade crust before. Obviously.

046

And I’ve made dutch apple pie before, and it didn’t look or taste like this. I wish I could find my old recipe.

047

I suck at baking.

049

But they ate it, happily, anyway.

051

I will not share the terrible recipe.

050

(That’s me, looking cannily like Butthead. Ugh.)

I made a disaster of the kitchen.

054

And this is what a night of heavy cooking, without drinking, does to a girl.

061

-L4L-

2 Responses

  1. The Chicken Parmesan was absolutely amazing! You did an incredible job. Mmmmmmm.

    Sorry the apple pie didn’t turn out like you hoped. I think it still tasted great though.

  2. […] I cooked up a batch of plain oats using vanilla soymilk and topped my half with a chopped up piece of leftover apple pie, sans the thick gross failure of a crust. […]

Leave a Reply

