Carvin’ Pumpkins

I am completely exhausted from our whirlwind weekend. I need a weekend from my weekend but that ain’t happening! It’s nearly 4pm now, Sunday evening, Jodus has gone to take his dad to the airport so I have a couple of hours to myself to try and tackle some chemistry.

We spent the morning, and well into the afternoon, carving our pumpkins we got yesterday.

080 081 083 084  086087  091 093 094095 096097 100 101 102 104 106 107 109

From left to right, Jodus, mine, and his dad’s.

110

I love the detail work his dad did!

113

And I think Jodus’ is a great, traditional, scary pumpkin!

111

Mine is just down right goofy looking.

112

Jodus was my inspiration. 😀 😉

And a little L4L love…

114

And we had to light ’em up and see how they looked!

120 121 117 118

Quite proud!

116 122

All morning, I have had a pot of chili simmering so it was pretty quick to dish up lunch after we cleaned up our pumpkin mess.

127 

In the mix is a bag of 15 Bean Mix, a can of drained kidney beans, a jar of spaghetti sauce, 1 can diced tomatoes, 3 diced roma tomatoes, 2 cups frozen corn, 2 lbs ground angus beef sautéed in 5 cloves of garlic and a medium diced onion, lots of chili powder and cumin, some salt and cayenne, and a little bit of sugar.

128

I used Bob’s Red Mill cornbread mix for these muffins.

129 130

Topped with Organic Valley sour cream and Mexican shredded cheese.

131 132 133 134

Smart Balance + Agave

135 136

Perfectly satisfying!

After lunch, I spent a good hour or so cleaning pumpkin seeds.

I have every intention of baking these. Just don’t know when I will get around to it. 😉

A HUGE thank you do Dave, Jodus’ dad, for making the trip out here from SLC, UT. We had a great time and it was good to finally meet him!

115

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. I love all the pumpkins, so much fun. Chili looks delicious also.

  2. Aww, looks like a good time!

  3. I had a ton of fun carving pumpkins!!! I haven’t done it in years. You did a great job capturing my dorky, blank, stare. Hehe.

    The chili and cornbread muffins were soooooooo good!!!

    I still can’t believe we ran our dishwasher 3 times in one day! Hahaha.

  4. I love carving pumpkins!!!
    Healthy Eating
    Tasha

Leave a Reply

