ImprompTuesday

Sorry about not having a mid-day post! It would have been incredibly boring.

No morning snack.

Lunch was leftover tuna casserole.

012

No real afternoon snack.

See? Boring.

But when I did get home, I packed my lunch for the next day and had to do some tupperware rearranging so I nibbled on some cold casserole.

013

 

Then it got exciting! After exchanging emails with my love, we decided we were going to yoga together tonight before dinner! Yay!

Jodus has never practiced yoga before but he’s been complaining of tightness in his hip flexors from half-marathon training. I suggested yoga, and he actually said it sounded good! It didn’t take much at all!

Ahead of time, I downloaded the Yoga for Runners from YogaDownload.com and I already have a Gentle Hatha Yoga, each 20 minutes (free!). I really wanted him to do the Runners one but it was more advanced so I gave him the choice.

He chose the beginners Gentle Hatha Yoga. It was far too easy for me. Not a challenge at all. He had trouble with a couple poses… mostly balance issues, but faired well overall. Next time, we’ll try something more challenging.

***

If you have noticed… I haven’t done anything at all in the way of exercise recently. A lot of it is physical. Most of it is mental though. Ever since being diagnosed with Plantar Fasciitis, I have been incredibly discouraged. Just when I was really starting to get into the groove of running, the rug was pulled out from under me. I’m “meh” on the recumbent bike because it hurts my bum. The last time I tried an elliptical, it hurt my feet too.

I know that Plantar Fasciitis is not an excuse to not work out. I can walk for short periods, I can do calisthenics, and I can definitely do yoga. I am just having a serious mental block. It doesn’t help that we’ve been busy and I am juggling a class now. But that is no excuse either. Someone kick my butt into gear! Yoga felt great tonight! But is doing a few sessions of yoga a week enough? And who is to say what is enough? It’s better than nothing, that’s for sure.

Does anyone have any input on this? At all? Help? Get me out of my month(s) long funk!

***

So going into my dinner prep for ImprompTuesday, I knew I wanted to utilize brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes. I decided I was going to do a(nother) soup! I opted for roasting the veggies first and “beefed” it up with lots of extra veggies.

014

  • 2 Sweet Potatoes
  • 3 Carrots
  • 1 Large Onion
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper
  • Brussel Sprouts (not that whole bag!)

I drizzled the veggies with olive oil, lemon juice, and agave, and sprinkled them with a Mediterranean Roasting Salt that I got from Williams & Sonoma.

And then somewhere in here, I decided I wasn’t in the mood for soup and just eating plain roasted veggies sounded really darn good.

015

So that’s what I did.

And it was really darn good!

020

I paired it with some FSTG Sweet Potato Chips.

019 023

And proceeded to scoop my roasted veggies with them.

025

These veggies were so good. The sweet potatoes literally were melting in my mouth, like sweet cream butter. So good.

Right  now, we are watching: Definitely, Maybe.

Cute. I like the way the story was told. But not great.

Dessert:

026

Oh yay!

-L4L-

5 Responses

  1. I dunno if you have the tuna casserole listed on here but im going to look for it!

    Im in the same funk as you. Ever since completing my half marathon almost 3 months ago I have been in a workout funk. We need to motivate each other!!! Tomorrow I am doing a spin class, weights and some time on the elip….i need a long stress reliving workout session.

  2. I don’t have too much to say to help, but I really do believe in “fake it til you make it.” And working out is ALL about habit for me…when I’m on it, I’m ON it, but when I’m not, I totally slack off and it’s hard to get back in the swing. So I guess I say, even though you don’t really want to, just GO, don’t think about it, and soon it’ll become habit again and you’ll start to want to do it. Ehh…easier said than done, I know! And I personally don’t think yoga is “enough,” but that’s just my opinion and I know plenty of people say otherwise. yoga is awesome, though.

  3. Ugh I just wrote, “I personally think.” Kill me now. That’s one of my biggest pet peeve when other people say that. Stupid Randy Jackson. He started it.

  4. Do you belong to a gym? I find group exercise classes are really motivating for me. It’s something that happens at a set time that I can put right into my schedule – and having a roomful of people around me always encourages me to push harder! Group yoga would totally be enough 🙂 Although, if the elliptical hurts your foot, sounds like spin class may hurt it too 😦

    Oh, and what about doing videos? Something like 30 Day Shred would be perfect to ease you back into it. 20 minutes a day won’t feel too overwhelming 🙂

Leave a Reply

