Guest Post: Tahlia Bakes

Leah’s note: Tahlia was the MOH in my sister’s wedding, in which I was a bridemaid.

We have stayed in touch ever since! I have baking-envy when I see her recipes! She has a knack for it!

***

I’ve loved baking for as long as I can remember. As a kindergartner, at the end of term we all were supposed to submit our favourite recipes as we knew how to make them (with the intent of showing off, no doubt our hilarity as well as our creativity) for publication, with actual recipe contributions from our parents to accompany them. The recipe that I submitted was pretty detailed for a 4 year old, ” 2 cups of flour, 1 cup of white sugar, 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 egg, TLAR the vanilla (I knew military jargon better than civilian terms early on!). Bake for 5 minutes in an oven as hot as the sun…” Admittedly, the temperature was too hot, but the specifics I knew from an incredibly early age.  But I digress.  
I want to thank my friend Leah for asking me to do a guest post for her blog; which I follow every day.  She was intrigued by the sheer number of recipes I try and post on my facebook page, so I thought I’d do a 2-for recipe; something classic and something unusual, to be enjoyed together.

Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies with Ricotta Ice Cream

I am of the opinion that cookies are best enjoyed when they are very soft, so I time my oven accordingly.  If you like your cookies more crisp, simply add a few minutes to my time.
For the cookies:
preheat oven to 350.
I cup organic butter (some people like to do 1/2 butter, half margarine; if you choose to go this route, make sure you don’t use a margarine spread, which has a high water content and tends to break down in the oven).
3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar (organic tends to be more moist, which again yields a softer cookie)
2 free range eggs (room temperature)
 
Cream these ingredients, ONE AT A TIME, with a hand mixer. This will ensure that the butter and eggs are almost fluffy when the sugar is added.
Add a splash (about 1 tsp) of vanilla.
Add 2 1/4 cups unbleached all purpose flour (one cup at a time), blend with hand mixer until smooth.  Add one bag of organic dark chocolate chips and a bag of crushed walnuts.  Mix with mixer, only until the nuts and chips are thoroughly incorporated.  
Drop by rounded spoonfuls (or a cookie scoop if you prefer) onto ungreased cookie sheets.
Bake for a minimum of 9 minutes, 12-14 for crispy cookies. 
For the ice cream:
4 free range eggs
1 cup organic honey
1 cup sugar
Mix these well with a hand mixer until it triples in volume; about 3 minutes.
In a separate bowl, beat 2 cups of cream until stiff, about 1 minute or so.
Add 2 cups of organic milk (I like Horizon) and 2 cups of ricotta cheese. add to the honey/egg/sugar mixture, add a splash of vanilla (about a tsp or so); mix with a hand mixer (trust me on this!) for about 3 minutes or until silky smooth.  A large casserole dish will be best suited for this; the original recipe calls for a baking pan but this will yield much more than 1 1/2 qts. Pour entire mixture in the casserole dish and freeze for a minimum of 3 hours; overnight is best.  
The resulting ice cream will not be very sweet, but depending on the type of honey used (orange blossom, clover, etc) the dairy will magnify the flavour of the honey. It will very creamy and rich; it would go well with the cookies from the above recipe, or with a tart raspberry coulis.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

