Going South For The Winter

Ah, Kitchen, How I Missed Thee

It felt so good to cook a meal tonight.

It felt even better to eat it!

California Chicken

I think I have made this before for you all but here’s the drill again.

I used 2 large (Costco) chicken breasts and filleted them.

027 

Salt, pepper, and garlic powder each side.

028

Pan fry for a couple minutes to sear the juices in.

Lay on greased cookie sheet.

Top with tomato slices.

033

Sprinkle with cheese.

034

Bake at 350* until done, depending on the thickness of your chicken breasts.

040

Top with avocado slices.

043

Mexican-Kitchen Sink Quinoa

I’m calling this "Mexican Kitchen Sink" because it just has a bunch of random ingredients that I think you would find in Mexico. 😉

I cooked 1 cup of quinoa in 2 cups of water in my rice cooker.

030

Halfway through, I added 1 cup of frozen corn.

032

In the mean time, I sautéed 1 bell pepper, 1/2 an onion, and 2 cloves of garlic in the same pan that I cooked the chicken in.

035 036037038 039

When quinoa is soft, add 1 can of black beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes (I had a half used large can in the fridge).

029 031

Season with 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp salt, and a dash of cayenne.

041

Since I only used half an avocado, I made a small batch of guacamole with the other half to go with some FSTG The Works chips.

042 045 044

We ate in front of the TV (bad, I know). We watched Ghosts Of Girlfriends Past which was ok. A very tan Matt McConaughey as eye candy pretty much made it worth while. I guess it was cute. But not memorable. I don’t think I’d ever itch to see it again.

047 

And dessert:

049

Only 3 small squares. And maybe a Ferrero Rocher. 😉

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. I wish I liked Quinoa!! It always looks so good!

  2. This chicken looks outstanding! I will definitely be making it!

    🙂
    Wendy

  3. That whole dinner looks amazing! I will be making this asap! 🙂 I always eat in front of the TV for the record. My husband has set the kitchen table up as his computer repair headquarters!

  4. Welcome back to the kitchen! I think you really outdid yourself with this dinner. It was so amazing. Mmmmm. I am so lucky!

    (dishes weren’t that bad either)

Leave a Reply

