Mocha Mounds

This morning, I took a queue from Susan’s (www.thegreatbalancingact.com) book and tried some mocha oats.

001

Looks too good to eat, right?

I used 1 cup coffee, 1 cup vanilla soymilk, 1 cup oats, for two servings.

After it was prepared, I added 1 scoop chocolate whey, stirred. Then I topped the bowls with almond butter and carob chips.

002

Okay, honestly? Not really a fan.

Maybe I missed the banana creaminess/sweetness.

Maybe it was the grittiness from the whey, which I don’t normally use.

It definitely wasn’t the coffee flavor that put me off. Or the chocolate. Or the almond butter.

It was the texture.

We shall see if I try my hand at these again.

Love the concept.

Execution sucked.

***

Heating update:

Holy sweaty balls.

Sorry.

I have blogging Tourette’s.

We just had the heat on in the living room over night and boy is it ever warm. I think we’ll need to turn it down a tad. Which sounds easy enough but the thermostat is hidden behind a 6 foot shelf in our living room. But it is efficient, that’s for sure! It did take some time to warm the house though.

Previously, we were sleeping with 2 down comforters, a quilt, and a felt blanket. By the middle of the night, they were all down at my waist and my feet were sticking out! I guess I needed some air! 😀

BUT this is not me complaining! It is so much better than freezing my arse off!

PS – Jodus is already freaking about the electric bill. Just FYI.

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. I still need to try mocha oats. Maybe I’ll leave the protein powder out or blend it in some water first to get rid of the grit. I hate grit!

  2. Don’t blame Jodus on the electric bill freak out. I’m constantly freaking out about mine. It was $146 for SEPTEMBER and we barely used heat. GRRRR!!!

  3. 1 cup of coffee and chips!!?? I gotta get my husband to the computer to see this concoction.

  4. I agree with Leah about the Mocha Oats. They were OK, but not great. I have no idea what I’m talking about….but maybe a banana, more coffee, and less protein powder would help. IDK.

Leave a Reply

