Guest Post: Spicy Turkey Chili

Hi L4L readers! My name is Hallie and my blog is called Healthy Twists. It started with the concept of me taking unhealthy recipes and turning them healthy, but it’s shifted since then into a general food/fitness/health blog of sorts. Even though I live in southern California, I LOVE soups and chili. I will eat soup year-round, but there is nothing like a warm bowl of soup or a spicy chili with cornbread on a cold night.

I wanted to share my recipe for turkey chili with the L4L readers because although it’s a little more work than your average chili (it’s a 2-day process, uses dried beans, etc.) I think it’s worth it. If you like spice, and at my house we certainly do, I highly recommend this recipe.

Spicy Turkey Chili

Adapted from Recipezaar

  • 1.25 lbs ground turkey

  • 1.5 cups dried beans

  • 1 (16 ounce) can tomatoes (fire-roasted if you have ‘em)

  • 6 ounces tomato paste (one small can)

  • 1 onion, finely diced

  • 2-2 1/2 bell pepper, diced

  • 1.5-2 cups broth (beef, chicken, or vegetable)

  • 1 fresh tomato

  • 2 garlic cloves

  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cumin

  • 1/2 tablespoon oregano

  • 1 tablespoon paprika

  • 2 tablespoons chili powder (or to taste)

  • 2 tablespoons cayenne pepper (or to taste)

  • 1 jalapeno pepper (optional…I guess)

  • Toppings: cheese, chopped onion, sour cream, etc.

  1. Soak beans overnight.

  2. Process the fresh tomatoes, garlic, cumin, oregano, paprika, chili powder, cayenne and jalapeno in the food processor; place in the refrigerator overnight.

  3. Brown the ground turkey in a pan and place in crock pot.

  4. Add the beans, crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, onions, bell peppers, broth, and tomato spice puree.

  5. Stir to mix and let cook for 10-12 hours on low or 5-6 on high

  6. Serve as desired with toppings. Makes 6 servings or so. Leftovers freeze very well!

I made this recipe healthier using the following “twists”:

  • Used less ground turkey than the recipe called for.

  • Omitted the beer and bacon from the original recipe. It’s flavored enough.

  • No added salt.

  • Healthy garnishes help too: low fat cheese/sour cream, baked chips, etc.

I brown the turkey and chopped all the veggies the night before cooking

The next morning, I mixed everything in the crock pot and let it cook on low all day

And my finished bowl, topped with lots of chopped onion and baked tortilla chips.

Leftovers freeze great (or make great lunches, right Leah?)

Thanks for letting me guest post, Leah! I hope you are having an excellent time in Arizona.

Hallie @ Healthy Twists

 

Leave a Reply

