Kielbasa + Beans + Kale

Afternoon snack was leftover Confetti Couscous.

011

I scooted out of work early and hit the gym! Yay!

I did 20 minutes on the recumbent bike, level 10 (of 20), random, 7.3 miles while watching Dr. Phil.

Then I did some stretching a bit.

Then I did a circuit style thing: 10 squats, 10 alternating lunges, 10 push-ups, 10 jumping jacks, 10 slow-mo bicycles.

Repeat.

The push-ups were tough to get through.

Then I walked on the treadmill for 20 minutes, 3.5 mph, inline 1.0, while watching Oprah.

358 cal burned. Not too shabby.

So ya’ll know my feet are in pain. I have Plantar Fasciitis. Hence, the recumbent bike. It feels great on my feet BUT I don’t look forward to doing it like I use to with running, walking, or even the elliptical. I couldn’t figure out why the past few times but today, I did.

It’s because of my butt.

No really.

1) I am on my butt all damn day at work, I don’t want to be on my butt when I am “working out.”

2) My butt gets sweaty. Gross.

3) It hurts my bum. I start getting uncomfortable about 10-15 minutes into it. Lame-o.

Hence why I only did 20 minutes today. But it is better than nothing, right?

(I really need new shoes.)

Dinner

I sort of invented it, sort of got the idea from other recipes. This would have been a more fitting ImprompTuesday meal but oh well.

My two inspirations were quite similar: Kale & White Bean Stew and Bean & Sausage Stew.

Using the ingredients I had on hand, I made a few alterations.

Ingredients

  • 1  tablespoon  canola oil
  • 1  package kielbasa
  • 1 Tbls minced garlic
  • 1 large sweet onion, chopped
  • 1  19-ounce can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1  14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1  bunch kale, chopped
  • 1/4  teaspoon  kosher salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon  black pepper

I sautéed the onion and garlic in oil, added the kielbasa and let that brown a little bit. Then I threw in the can of tomatoes and beans, let that simmer for a few minutes. Then I added the kale, and let it cook down a bit.

012 013 014 015 016 017 018 019

I served it over wild rice.

020 021 023

Jodus gave it a C+.

I gave it a C.

We’d eat it again but it was nothing spectacular.

024

Not sure what it needed. The kale was super chewy. Lacking… something.

-L4L-

Reason #293

Morning snack was slightly lacking because I (oops) left my granola at home.

Oh well.

Blueberry Oikos is yum without!

And then I realized I had an emergency stash of granola in my drawer. Doh!

You know, I was blonde, naturally, for about the first 12-13 years of my life. 😉

I also had a pumpkin bar.

It made me feel sick. Too much sugar I think. When will I learn?

So lunch time. La-di-da-da-da. I prance my butt into the kitchen, grab the container (that has been in there since Monday) of leftover Moroccan Lentil Soup, peel back the lid on my little Ziploc plastic container and proceed to start dry heaving.

Ew.

Mold.

Mold is an understatement.

There is NO WAY that this could have been my soup from a few days ago. Mold doesn’t grow like that. And not that fast! Ew, ew, ew!

I did the right thing and cleaned it up immediately instead of taking it home for Jodus to deal with. (Love you, hun!)

Aha!

I discovered that it indeed was not my Lentil Soup. There was kidney beans in it. Hmm. That only means one thing.

Chili.

Ew. Ew. Ew.

When was the last time I made chili?

Reason #293 It’s Good to Have A Food Blog: You can look up how long the moldy chili has been sitting in your work fridge.

Um… over a month ago. Yes, my friends. I have absolutely NO recollection of bringing chili in and not eating it. Um. Oops.

I dug around in the fridge some more, shoving aside leftovers from yesterdays potluck, and finally found my beloved, un-moldy lentil soup.

I also found some blue corn tortilla chips in the kitchen and snagged some to have with my soup.

Thank you, someone!

It was much more flavorful than the first time I had it! A little spicy! I liked it! Just another reason that Leftovers Rock!

-L4L-

Cheese Makes the World Go ‘Round

After seeing Allison’s breakfast sandwich the other day, I knew I had to have one. And I did.

001

Oh baby!

On this bad boy is one fried egg, a couple slices of tomato, some Adobo Goya seasoning, mayo, and the moneymaker: muenster cheese. Oh baby.

I think that good cheese makes a difference. Pretty much on anything. I used to get the Costco size Kraft American slices and think I was in heaven. I think I confused it with limbo because real good cheese is heaven.

003

I used to not be such a huge fan of cheese. And I’m still picky about my cheese. I can’t do stinky cheese. Feta only in moderation. And no Swiss please.

What’s your favorite kind of cheese?

-L4L-