ImprompTuesday

Today, I am kicking off the official ImprompTuesday!

In an effort to try and get more creative in the kitchen, I have decided to dedicate one night (Tuesday) a week to not following a recipe. I came up with this idea last week in the midst of my meal planning.

I vow to not think about what to make for dinner that night until the afternoon like a normal person, instead of a week in advance.

I vow to not research for “inspiration.”

I vow to only use ingredients that I have on hand.

I vow to step out of my box.

Not only am I hoping that this will allow me to be more creative, I’m also hoping it will allow me to listen to my body more and cook dinner based off of what sounds good or what I am craving instead of what I “had planned”.

Today was a rather uninteresting ImprompTuesday. I really don’t plan for it to be like this. I already failed you. I did not step out of my box. We were expecting a dinner guest and they cancelled at the last minute so we just threw burgers on the grill.

A Costco Turkey Burger on an Oroweat Sandwich Thin (almost gone! Thank god!) with some muenster, mayo, ketchup, Adobo Goya Seasoning, lettuce, and tomato.

025 024 027 033 034

With a side of grilled asparagus.

026 029

And leftover from the potluck: Confetti Couscous.

030

And the boy split a beer with me.

021 022 023 028

The boy and I are going to spend some quality time with Carrie, Samantha, Miranda, and Charlotte tonight. Yes, my man watches SATC with me. And not by force! He actually likes it. And will admit it! That’s my boy! 😉

-L4L-

(PS – Have I ever mentioned that I am convinced I am the luckiest girl alive??)

Contrast + Potluck

Did you miss me this morning? 🙂

I had a grand old time at the hospital getting blood tests and a CT scan.

If you haven’t had a CT Scan before, here’s the drill. (It was my first time!)

Fast for 6 hours prior to appointment. Arrive an hour and a half prior to appointment. Drink contrast:

Try not to gag. Supposedly, one is banana flavor, and one is berry. Mostly it just tastes like chalk. But my belly was happy to have something in it… until about halfway through. Then it was screaming at me. 😦

Wait until ~20 minutes prior to actual appointment time.

Get dressed up.

Get an IV. Get the scan. Get the hot bladder-I-feel-like-I’m-pissing-myself reaction. Good stuff.

After all this, I really didn’t have much of an appetite considering I had no real food thus far. But I forced myself to have a something small:

About an hour later… hunger began to creep in. I satisfied it with some nuts.

And a little later, a second handful (unpictured).

Finally, at 1pm, it was potluck time!

Check out the spread!

  • Veggie Tray
  • Fruit Platter (x2)
  • Crostini’s (x4)
  • Sushi
  • Pasta Salad
  • Couscous Salad (mine)
  • Chili
  • Croissant Sandwiches
  • Bread
  • Salmon

It was also a surprise baby shower for the head honcho’s wifey!

My plate:

(Sushi, a few different crostini’s, pasta salad that was too salty, a few pieces of fruit, croissant sandwich)

I did not get any of my couscous salad because I figured I’d be eating leftovers. And I was right. But a couple people mentioned to me that they thought it was really good. But it wasn’t the star. Rachel’s 3-ingredient dip “won”: onion, mayo, and parmesan, all baked and spread over crostini’s. It was pretty darn good.

Dessert:

I really didn’t have a big appetite still. I’ve felt like grazing all day instead. So again, this left me a little sick feeling. Especially the cake. I should have said no. But it’s chocolate cake. And it was put in front of me. On a cute pink plate.

I’m thinking I might leave work early and take a nap. We’ll see though. I am exhausted. I’m just going to blame it on the time of the month. I am pretty sure when I crawled in bed last night, the clock read 8:xx.

Dinner tonight will be on the fly, and with a guest! Stay tuned!

-L4L-