Risotto with Sautéed Shrimp, Corn, and Fresh Basil

Original recipe found here.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound raw large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 6 basil leaves, cut into thin strips (chiffonade), divided
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup diced roasted red orange pepper
  • 4  to 5 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked Arborio rice
  • 1/4 cup white wine (such as Chardonnay)
  • 1 cup corn kernels
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, divided

Preparation

1. Heat a large sauté pan over medium-high heat. In a large mixing bowl, toss shrimp with 1 tablespoon olive oil, sea salt, pepper, and 3 basil leaves. Sauté shrimp in 2 batches, if necessary, to prevent overcrowding. Cook about 1 minute per side, and remove from pan; place on a platter, cover loosely, and set aside.

2. Reduce heat to medium, and heat remaining olive oil and butter in the same pan. Add onion, and sauté, stirring frequently, 2 minutes or until tender and translucent. Add garlic and red pepper, and sauté, stirring constantly, 1 minute more.

3. Bring broth to a boil in a 3-quart saucepan over medium-high heat. Turn off heat, cover, and keep warm.

4. Add rice to onion mixture, and cook, stirring constantly, 2 minutes or until grains are well coated and the outsides turn translucent. (Do not let rice brown.) Add white wine, and cook 30 seconds or until most of it evaporates.

5. Add 1 cup chicken broth, and stir constantly until mostly absorbed. Add additional broth in 1-cup increments, stirring after each addition until most of the broth is absorbed. Stop adding broth when rice appears to be saturated. (You may not need all 5 cups broth.) Cook, stirring frequently, 20 to 25 minutes or until rice is tender and creamy but not mushy.

6. Stir in corn, and cook 2 to 3 minutes or until heated through. Stir in shrimp and any collected juices. Reduce heat to low, and cook until warm, not more than 1 minute. Add a little more chicken broth if risotto gets too dry. Remove from heat, and stir in 1/4 cup Parmesan and remaining basil. Season with additional sea salt and pepper, if desired. Top with remaining Parmesan, and serve warm.

Jodus aka H2B aka my Sous Chef got to work on chopping onion and bell pepper for me. He also took over stirring duties for me after twenty minutes of stirring so I could get some fresh air and water. lol.

032 033 034 035 036 037 038 039 040 042

Served with a side of roasted brussel sprouts.

043 

Jodus gives it an “A” and I give it an “A-”. I think I needed to cook the rice a tiny bit more. And the sweetness was a bit odd. Maybe because I used a sweet onion? And the corn was sweet? Not sure. But I loved the creaminess of it. I wish I had had the appetite for a larger portion. I will definitely be attempting risotto again!

We had a splash of wine, by candlelight and started a movie.

045044 

Tomorrow is a BIG day for me. Tuesday is an even BIGGER day.

I’m looking forward to it! 🙂

-L4L-

Kung Pao Venison

Today was spent doing the following:

  • Car Shopping (browsing)
  • Costco to get pictures printed
  • Finishing Save The Date cards
  • Watching lots of SATC
  • Making very crumbly Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting, courtesy of Ms. Betty Crocker

At Costco, while waiting, we hit up ALL the sample booths. Oh yes, we did!

017018 019020 021022 023024

All that managed to hold me over til lunch. 😉

The Pumpkin Bars taste really good but are a bit crumbly and my Cream Cheese Frosting was a lumpy sweet mess. I ate my weight in crumbs and frosting, regardless.

031

That’s about 1/4th of the batch.

Lunch was incredibly quick. I sliced up some venison (courtesy of Mom!) and threw it in the wok with a little oil and Kung Pao sauce we got with a gift card (again, courtesy of Mom!) at Williams & Sonoma.

028 027

And I threw in some broccoli, threw it on some brown rice, sprinkled some red pepper flakes on top, and voila! Lunch for two!

030

Tonight is Risotto! Eeks! I’m scared! Wish me luck!

-L4L-