Moroccan Lentil Soup

Adapted from this recipe at AllRecipes.

  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 1 (15 ounce) can garbanzo beans, drained
  • 1 (19 ounce) can cannellini beans
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup diced carrots (+)
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala Moroccan spices
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cardamom
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

DIRECTIONS

  1. In large pot saute; the onions, garlic, and ginger in a little olive oil for about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the water, lentils, chick peas, white kidney beans, diced tomatoes, carrots, celery, garam masala, Moroccan spice, cardamom, cayenne pepper and cumin. Bring to a boil for a few minutes then simmer for 1 to 1 1/2 hours or longer, until the lentils are soft.
  3. Puree half the soup in a food processor or blender. Return the pureed soup to the pot, stir and enjoy!

The Moroccan Spice blend that I used was something I had had in my cupboard for awhile now, ever since I tried baked chickpeas. I can’t find the recipe and I can’t remember exactly what I put in it, but it looks a lot like this one I found.

021 022 023 024 025 026 030 032 033 034

This was a very tasty bowl! If I were to re-do it, I would add more veggies and probably reduce the cardamom to 1 tsp. It was a tiny bit overwhelming. And I might add a pinch of salt.

I give it an A-.

Jodus said the same.

When asked what he would change, he said to add bacon. Not a bad idea but it would reduce the healthiness of the dish of course.

****

Goods from the Farmer’s Market earlier:

019

($8.90)

Goods from PCC:

020

($41.20)

Some things to look forward to in the kitchen this week:

My first try at Risotto.

Introducing ImprompTuesdays.

Work Potluck.

Pumpkin.

-L4L-

Autumn

Things That Officially Make It Fall

1) Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup

008

We had this for lunch but pumped up from your classic Wonder Bread + Kraft American! We used Dave’s Killer Bread + Muenster cheese and sprinkled the bread with a little garlic powder! Tomato soup was splashed with some 1/2 & 1/2 for added prettiness creaminess.

007 004

With a small fruit salad made with a peach, a pear, a banana, some blueberries and halved grapes.

005

2) Gourds

009

3) Rain

018

4) Pumpkin Spice Mistos

016

5) Sweaters

015

6) Pumpkins

017

7) The color Orange

010

8) Being with loved ones (even in the rain)

012

9) Hot Cocoa (spiked!)

029

10) Hearty Soups simmering on the stove

030

What is your favorite thing about Autumn?

-L4L-

Jammies and Juice

I am thoroughly enjoying the laziest Saturday morning EVER.

Jodus got up early early and went to the office to get in some overtime.

I slept until ~7am and have had my butt planted on the couch ever since! I have watched Glee, Project Runway (x3), caught up on my Google Reader, and started addressing envelopes for our Save The Date cards!

I had an equally lazy breakfast.

001

2 microwaved eggs on Dave’s Killer Bread with some zingy carrot/apple/ginger juice!

And I ate it on the couch, in front of my laptop. It’s nearly 11 now. I am still unshowered and in my PJ’s. I promise I’ll start being productive! … As soon as this episode of Project Runway is over! 😉

Happy Saturday!

-L4L-