Hot and Spicy Tofu Stir-Fry

I did not make it to the gym after work. Nor did I do yoga.

Say it with me now: SLACKER.

Yep, that’s right. I’m a huge slacker.

Let’s retrace my steps.

This morning, I forgot to pack gym shoes. Awesome.

After leaving work (early), I went to my advising appointment at Bastyr and got some good and bad news.

Good News: I don’t have to take BioChem this quarter. *whew* That totally relaxes me about these upcoming months. Class only 2 nights a week now.

Bad News: I will probably have to take an accelerated BioChem course next summer through Bastyr.

Inferred News: I have a chance in hell to actually get into the program I want for Fall 2010, if ever.

So I left Bastyr, went to Collision Clinic, proceeded to miss my turn, get stuck in rush hour traffic, and eventually arrive, clean out the car, and spend 20 minutes, ruining my nails in the process, trying to scratch off the damn government decals that Jodus insists we need from the Acura. I kissed her good bye (well, not actually, more like a tap on the hood), and went on my way. By the time I arrived home, it was already 5pm. Sheesh. I have to leave ~5:30 to pick up the boy. Ok, I can squeeze in a 20 min Yoga sess.

Quick snack: salami

011

*ring*ring*

“Why hello, mother.”

30 minutes later, I am in my car, on the way to get Jodus, talking to my little brother about what superhero he should be for Homecoming.

Story. Of. My. Life.

Ah, the best laid plans. Do I get points for thinking about squeezing in a yoga session? Meh, whatever.

Babe?” (me)

Yes, dear?” (Jodus)

Are you planning on going running tonight?”

Are you planning on doing yoga"?”

No, but that’s not the point.”

Um, no. I am not mentally prepared to run.”

Good, I’m starving. Help with dinner?”

Hot and Spicy Tofu Stir-fry

Another AllRecipes find!

  • 3 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 1 pound firm tofu, cubed
  • 1 red onion, sliced (chopped instead due to miscommunication with sous chef)
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced (I did 1 yellow and 1 orange)
  • 1 green chile pepper, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed (minced, it’s what I had)
  • 1/3 cup hot water
  • 3 tablespoons white vinegar (this was too much!)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (heaping!)
  • Besides the notes above, I followed the recipe exactly. That’s pretty good for me. Usually I make a ton of changes.

    Fried the tofu in peanut oil.

    012 013

    Tangent about oils. Please, please, PLEASE make sure you are buying unrefined oils. Avoid anything that says high oleic! Unrefined oils are more nutritious and flavorful! Check out what Spectrum says on their website!

    014 015

    Added veggies and garlic.

    Made the sauce and added it to the wok.

    017

    I served it over instant brown rice.

    022 021

    Jodus’ grade: A/A-

    My grade: B-

    I thought it was too vinegary and not spicy enough. This is a good basic recipe that you can totally adjust to your tastes which is nice. I’d add more veggies next time because I am a veggie nazi. 😉

    Let’s talk cars! What cars that you have owned have you liked or disliked and why? What do you recommend for a good, reliable vehicle?

    -L4L-

    Stewing

    Well, we got a figure from the insurance company on how much we are getting for deer dear old Acura. It’s not bad. A little more than we expected. Now the car shopping begins.

    For a morning snack, I had the last of my Chobani with some strawberries and Nature’s Path Agave Plus Granola.

    Couldn’t quite finish it.

    Lunch was delicious leftovers.

    Irish Venison Stew with a piece of potato sage bread.

    I have a busy busy evening ahead of me now: advising appointment, clean out the Acura of our personal belongings, online car shopping, yoga (since I forgot shoes!), and hopefully our Engagement picture CD will be in the mailbox!!!

    -L4L-

    Another Monday Morning

    The rest of my evening last night may have looked something like this:

     

    That’s Butter Pecan Ice Cream is sinfully delicious. I couldn’t stop licking my lips. Mmmmm, good! Pairs perfectly with SATC. 😉

    (PS – Is anyone else stoked out of their mind for the second movie that is currently in the making?! Whheeeeeeeeeeee!)

    And then there was Monday morning.

    *sigh*

    It seems like it has been awhile since I made oatmeal for breakfast so I opted for that this morning. Far too early for humanity. I am really quite excited for when we have a second car again because having to get up at 5am is not fun. And we rush so much to get ready since we are both in the bathroom at the same time now! (Should be hearing back from the insurance company today. Thank goodness.)

    Anyway, oatmeal!

     

    In the mix (for 2):

    • 2 cups vanilla soymilk
    • 1 cup oats
    • 4 dates
    • 1 banana
    • 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts

    And the boy made me an iced coffee to get me through my Monday.

     

    On the upside, work will be quiet today. My boss is going to be out of the office. I’m also leaving early to go to an advising appointment at Bastyr and will hopefully get some positive news/feedback/comments.

    And I just realized I’m pretty sure I didn’t pack my shoes in my gym bag. Awesome.

    -L4L-